Basics of Indian Astrology : Vedic astrology : Jyotish

Indian astrology, also known as Vedic astrology or Jyotish, is an ancient system of astrology that has its roots in the Vedas, the ancient scriptures of India. Here are some basics of Indian astrology:

  1. Zodiac Signs (Rashis):
    • The Indian astrological system is based on a 12-sign zodiac, similar to Western astrology. Each sign is associated with a specific constellation and represents a particular set of characteristics. The signs are Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces.
  2. Planets (Grahas):
    • Indian astrology considers seven primary celestial bodies as planets: Sun (Surya), Moon (Chandra), Mars (Mangal), Mercury (Budha), Jupiter (Guru or Brihaspati), Venus (Shukra), and Saturn (Shani). In addition to these, Rahu and Ketu, known as lunar nodes, are also considered in Vedic astrology.
  3. Houses (Bhavas):
    • A Vedic birth chart, also known as a Janam Kundali, is divided into 12 houses, each representing different aspects of life. The placement of planets in these houses provides insights into various areas such as career, relationships, and health.
  4. Nakshatras:
    • The lunar zodiac in Indian astrology is divided into 27 segments, each known as a Nakshatra. These Nakshatras are used to provide more detailed and specific information about a person’s characteristics and life events.
  5. Dasha System:
    • The Dasha system is a unique feature of Vedic astrology that involves planetary periods. It divides a person’s life into different time periods, each ruled by a specific planet. These periods can have a significant influence on various aspects of life.
  6. Yogas:
    • Yogas are specific combinations of planets that are believed to influence an individual’s life. Depending on the planetary alignments, yogas can indicate positive or challenging outcomes in areas like wealth, career, and relationships.
  7. Muhurta:
    • Muhurta is the selection of auspicious timings for various activities based on planetary positions. It is used to choose favorable moments for events such as weddings, business ventures, and other significant life events.
  8. Astrological Consultations:
    • In Vedic astrology, individuals often seek guidance from professional astrologers who analyze their birth charts to provide insights into their personality, strengths, challenges, and potential life events. Astrologers may also suggest remedies or rituals to mitigate challenges.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!